Orlaya grandiflora

Orlaya grandiflora (White lace flower) has beautiful mini handkerchiefs on delicate umbellifer flower heads. This is a long-standing favourite of mine. More
30 seeds 020039 £2.50 In stock
[?]
When in stock, please allow 2-3 working days for delivery.
5 seedlings 510741-5 £6.25 Delivery mid March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
10 seedlings 510741-10 £10.95 Delivery mid March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
5 jumbo seedlings, for spring/summer planting 510741-SP05 £7.95 Delivery early May
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Or buy this as part of our Mont Blanc Cut Flowers Collection and A Year of Seeds - Flowers.

More Details

Orlaya grandiflora (White lace flower) has beautiful mini handkerchiefs on delicate umbellifer flower heads. This is a long-standing favourite of mine.

Ammi majus (Bishop's flower) has been one of my favourite and best selling seeds for years now, and so we trialled this similar fuller-flowered cousin and loved it as much. Give it a try. It forms larger, more prolific plants from an autumn sowing.

Genus Orlaya
Group/Species grandiflora
Type Hardy Annual
Common Name White Lace Flower
Border Position Back
Soil Type Neutral
Scent Unscented
Site Full Sun
Moisture Well-drained
Height 60cm (24in)
Spacing 30cm (12in)
Sowing, Seeds, Planting Sow under cover March-April or sow direct in April for summer flowering, or in autumn for earlier flowers the following year.
Care Tips Hardy annuals can withstand a touch of frost and can be sown/planted straight into the ground in the autumn and will keep through the winter without protection. In colder areas you may wish to cover seedlings or keep in a cold frame/ unheated greenhouse.
Flowering June - September, 12 weeks from spring sowing.
Vase Life 7-10 days
Harvesting Flower production: 2-3 months.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice
Sarah's weekly blog: Chelsea Day 4

The seed-grown hot shot of this year’s Chelsea Show is...

Prepare your spring garden in autumn

To create the best flowers in spring you'll need to start growing in autumn - find out which varieties to grow here.

Sowing flowers in late summer

 Sarah shows how to sow flowers in late summer for more beautiful plants next spring.

Delivery

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Seeds Delivery - When in stock, please allow 2-3 working days for delivery.

Next Day Delivery - Available for next day delivery if ordered before 12:30pm, Monday to Thursday. Applies to in stock seeds and hardware items only.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Orlaya grandiflora reviews

* * * * - Average based on 74 reviews

* * - - -

Reviewed 24th September 2019 by Julie

Great service. I was very disappointed with the germination as I only managed to grow 1 plant from the seeds I first planted. I planted it out in the garden and watered it well it flowered and was very pretty then it went brown and died back. I've set some more seed (August) as it advised you could do and only 5 seeds have germinated this time. I don't think that there is enough information on the seed packets. I'm a experienced gardener but have found these seeds difficult to grow. I grew the first seeds on a heated bed? And the second batch without heat. Any more information would be great

* * * * *

Reviewed 20th August 2019 by Lucy

For a second year, these were a great addition to my garden and a lot of the seeds grew into beautiful plants.

* * - - -

Reviewed 17th August 2019 by Dawn

These should succeed easily but they don't with me (north east England, close to the sea) is it too cold!! I'll try again next year with left over seeds, love them so don't want to be defeated

* * * * -

Reviewed 16th August 2019 by Anita

Germination was not great but they are lovely plants.

* * - - -

Reviewed 10th August 2019 by Bernadette

Only half my plugs grew strongly. The others were marvellous fillers in my border.

* * * * *

Reviewed 8th August 2019 by Barbara

Beautiful addition to the flowerbed.

* - - - -

Reviewed 2nd August 2019 by Marion

These were quite spindly to start with, but grew up to flower at 12 - 18 inches high. Then, while still in flower, they all died: the foliage going grey in the process. They had been planted singly in a mixed border. I wasn't impressed with the flowers: my valerian is much more striking.

* * * * -

Reviewed 2nd August 2019 by Clare

Successful germination and now beautiful plants!

* * * * -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Sandra

Grew better in their little pots.

* - - - -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Claire

Very slow growing and flowered at a very small height.

* * * * *

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Angela

Amazing, always great results and such a useful little plant

* * * * -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Anita

Germination was not great but they are lovely plants.

* - - - -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Mr & Mrs Conie

Only 1 seedling survived. V disappointing

* - - - -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Kate

Very spindly seedlings, 4 havenit taken, only one left is still very much a seedling size! Wouldn't buy these again.

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Brenda

Germination rates were poor very disappointing

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Jennifer

They arrived looking heathy, lovely seedlings. I lovingly planted them out but was not prepared to have to do battle with heavy rain which brought the slugs out , pigeons who clearly thought I’d just put lunch out for them and lastly , as our cat died last year, rabbits entered the garden and completely finished them off!!! I shall not be daunted and will have another go next year! This time I will be prepared...!

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Jean

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Cynthia

Same as before. Did not germinate but I hope they might next year.

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Helen

Despite potting on until larger plants all but one went yellow and died

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Alison

Great service and advice over the phone. Plants arrived healthy and ready to go.

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Jane

Very few germinated and those that did are very weak and poor plants

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Virginia

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Beverly

Excellent service sturdy, good size plants all now flowering

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Annabel

They struggled in my cutting garden and died.

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Alan

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Caroline

Great products sent very quickly. Good germination of seeds and nice quality cellophane for wrapping flowres.

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Marion

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Josephine

Beautiful plants for a short while but they died off very quickly.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Susanna

Another new plant for me! I love it! Germinated well and flowered nicely.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Mary

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Patricia

As always the plants arrived in top condition and exactly when expected.in my opinion this is a perfect way to purchase plants such as Orlaya and Cosmos as they never fail.

* * * * *

Reviewed 13th May 2019 by Miss Ward

Arrived safely & in good order

* * * * *

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Julia

Lovely delicate white flowers and feathery foliage. Good woven in a mixed border with cosmos and wild carrot.

* * - - -

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Jenny

these did not do well - they were not vigorous and did not flower much and then gave up, even though it was a good summer

* * * * *

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Frances

The plants arrived in perfect condition, excellent packaging. I potted on for a few weeks until large enough to plant out. Lovely display of flowers. Very happy with the service from Sarah Raven.

* - - - -

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Isabel

The jumbo seedlings did not perform very well at all despite me watering them well. I had deliberately spent more money on seedlings rather than a pack of seeds. I was looking forward to adding lots of orlaya to my cutting garden bouquets but was disappointed😕

* * * * *

Reviewed 15th November 2018 by Carol

Loved these and hope that some will have self-seeded. Such an unusual plant and very useful mid-height in a border. FABULOUS

* * * * -

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Ms Roocroft

* * * * -

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Jane

Grew well but finished too soon.

* * - - -

Reviewed 11th November 2018 by Susi

Also spindly and did not thrive

* * * * -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Mrs Staniforth

* - - - -

Reviewed 11th October 2018 by Susie

Very disappointed. They looked great on arrival but didn’t thrive once planted despite being carefully looked after.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Orlaya and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 26th September 2018 by Alice

* * * * -

Reviewed 23rd September 2018 by Sandra

Seedlings good, unfortunately the slugs thought so too 😱

* * * * *

Reviewed 21st September 2018 by Marion

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Patricia

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Samantha

Love this, seedling good value for money as not that easy to grow for me greenhouse is too hot in my garden. Gave a wonderful display and cuts well too.

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Valerie

As ever, these are my very favourite, delicate flowers which set off all the remainder of the displays. Excellent service and quality

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Sandra

good strong plants flower quite early so now finished don't need staked!

* * * * *

Reviewed 17th September 2018 by Penny

Great plants that will often survive the winter. Good quality plants as usual. Thank you.

* * * * *

Reviewed 17th September 2018 by Lesley

The seedlings arrived in good condition and I potted them up immediately. When big enough they went into the garden dotted about and were magnificent. Good healthy large plants which gave me immense pleasure. I have bought seeds from you in the past but had poor germination and was disappointed so tried seedlings this time with 5 star success.

* * * * *

Reviewed 15th September 2018 by Maureen

These jumbo plants were excellent condition , something new to me, they have performed well all summer even when dying back they look tall and stately I would recommend these and will be having more in my garden next year,I am now waiting excitedly for my spring bulbs to arrive,

* * * * *

Reviewed 13th September 2018 by CHRISTINE

Very pleased with my purchase. Thank you! Love your catalogue.

* - - - -

Reviewed 13th September 2018 by Jenny

I have not received these as yet!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. we are sorry to hear that you did not receive the seedlings sent out on 16th March and can only presume that they went astray in the post. We have refunded you for the seedlings."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Pauline

good sized healthy plants - good length of flowering time

* - - - -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Diane

They did not grow and flourish. The plants remained very small with few flowers on and two died very shortly after planting. Very disappointing.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Orlaya seedlings and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by VAL

The plants arrived on time and were planted that day and grew away and with regular watering and feeding were much admirec

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by David

Not so good as other plants. Soon gave up the ghost!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Orlaya seedlings and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th September 2018 by Anthony

First time plants and they have provided a great show

* * * * -

Reviewed 5th September 2018 by Elisabeth

I was a little disappointed with the size of the seedlings and had to pot them up, but when they were big enough to plant out they grew well and looked very attractive at the back of the border against a fence.

I was not however pleased with the tulips I purchased last autumn to flower this Spring. I always plant them in pots and when the leaves come dot them around the borders. Some of them were very good but several didn't flower and indeed I took some photos to show you of pots where there was only one or two flowers. Unfortunately I can't mail this on my computer but I can send you a hard copy by post, if you would like. Consequently I have placed my order elsewhere for spring bulbs. It is very disappointing when one has taken time to make a selection and then after waiting all winter they do not flower as expected. I have been growing tulips all my life so am not exactly a novice gardener.

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Mrs Duncan

Plugs were a good size and packaging excellent

* * * * -

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Anne

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Mrs Armstrong

They were healthy little plants and did well when I planted them out.
Sadly they were greatly enjoyed by the local wild rabbit.

My recent order for bulbs will come later and I am sure I will be pleased.I always am.

I love your catalogue and the helpful tips too.
That!s why I am a regular customer.

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st August 2018 by Helen

Again plants were tiny when despatched but I managed to nurture them and they did well

* * - - -

Reviewed 29th August 2018 by Linda

was waiting for an amazing display of these - they seemed to wilt and die quite quickly - probably to do with the weather? l love Orlaya so will order more for next summer!

* * * * *

Reviewed 29th August 2018 by Miriam

All grew well but suffered a bit as the garden grew drier. Have collected the seeds for next year

Orlaya grandiflora

* * * * *

Reviewed 25th May 2018 by Janis Ireland

I grew orlaya for the first time this year. I planted the seeds in a cold frame in the autumn and left them until May before planting out. The plants were a good size then.
They are just lovely and several friends have asked me what they are and want to grow them too. They have been flowering since the beginning of May and of course it has been very sunny and dry. Will,have to see what the wet weather does.

So disappointed

* * - - -

Reviewed 4th August 2017 by Pauline Murphy

I grew the plugs on in pots, they did really well, good strong plants with several lovely flowers. I planted them out in the border and was delighted; the flower heads looked so pretty, bobbing among the other plants. Within a few weeks, as the first flush of flowers started to fade, the leaves turned brown and the whole plant eventually withered and died. This happened to all 5 plants, 2 in the front garden, 3 in the back, all well watered and cared for. Such a shame.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for taking time to review our site. we are sorry to hear that your plants did not thrive. In our experience Orlaya do best when allowed to grow a good root ball , plus a spot in light, well-drained soil as being natives of the Mediterranean they dislike growing in any soil that retains too much moisture.
If we can help you in any way please do contact our customer service team at info@sarahraven.com or by calling 0345 092 0283 and our team will assist you further.
Kind Regards, The Sarah Raven Team"

Posted 10th August 2017

Gorgeous but very challenging to grow

* * * - -

Reviewed 18th July 2017 by Sophie

I grew these from seed for the first time this year and only 3 plants survived to planting out. One of those thrived and had gorgeous flowers until suddenly going brown this week and giving up. The other two are barely surviving. I shall probably try an autumn sowing as the one plant was so lovely when it did flower that I would like to try again.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that your orlaya did not perform well, please do contact our Customer Service Team on 0345 092 0283 or at info@sarahraven.com and they will be happy to advise should you wish to try again.

Kind regards,
The Sarah Raven Team"

Posted 18th July 2017

Fabulous

* * * * *

Reviewed 13th June 2017 by Emily

Plug plants arrived in great condition so I was hoping they'd flower well and they absolutely have! I've got a brilliant cloud of umbels mixing really well with grasses and nepeta which is lovely for me and the bees.

Help!

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd July 2016 by Ann Davis

I have grown Orlaya from seed sown in spring for two years in succession now. They germinate fine and I grow them on to be sturdy plants before planting out. Once in the beds they grow for a few weeks and some even produce a couple of flowers, then they fail. The leaves start to turn brown and the plants die off. I really would like to be able to grow them as they are such pretty flowers. Any ideas where I am going wrong? I will try an autumn sowing this year, see if that helps.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the plants that you grew from the 'Orlaya Grandiflora' seeds from us. Yes we would recommend trying an autumn sowing, sow the seeds in pots and keep them undercover (in a cold frame or green house) over the winter. This will give them a good root system and hopefully they will be more successful next spring. Please do let our customer service team know if needed and they can assist you further or if you would like further advice about these plants please contact our horticultural adviser at plantadvice@sarahraven.com"

Posted 11th July 2016

Just ........ lovely

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th June 2016 by Jo Williamson

I'd bought plugs before from other suppliers with dreadful results but was desperate to try these to fill in places in my very narrow border (between a rock and a hard place). They arrived beautifully packaged and very healthy little plantlets. I potted them on into 9 cm pots and let them do their own thing outside. They grew on beautifully and once their roots had filled the pots, they went into the border and are flowering brilliantly. This is an ideal way for me to grow a small number of different annuals - I don't really enjoy growing from seed myself (quelle horreur!) and I shall certainly be ordering more plugs next year if these are anything to go by!

Third time lucky!

* * * * *

Reviewed 11th June 2016 by Dido

This is the third year I've attempted to grow these pretty flowers - the first year the slugs got the lot, the second year it was rabbits; but this year, success! I grew them from seed in the autumn and they overwintered (netted this time), coming into flower at the end of May, a lovely froth of white flowers which look great in the vase, especially with a few cornflowers interspersed. It was definitely worth persevering.

Product Reviews

* - - - -

Reviewed 17th November 2014 by Jennifer Bousfield

Sadly, the young plants supplied were far too tall and etiolated; there were even some flower stems budding, all far too forward for survival this winter. I have cut some back to just above a leaf and these have begun to shoot but remain very spindly. The others are flowering now but I wanted them for spring!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your comments. We're so sorry that the seedlings didn't arrive in the exact condition you anticipated. However, if planted now once cut back they will overwinter fine and set out new strong shoots in the spring. If you have any further problems please get in contact with our Customer Service team who will happily arrange a replacement for you in the spring."

Posted 18th November 2014