Lonicera periclymenum 'Chic et Choc'

I completely fell in love with this plant last summer. It's a compact, flowery and hugely scented honeysuckle, ideal for a pot or smaller space in sun or dappled shade. Brilliant! More
1 x 9cm plant, for spring/summer planting 190575-9C01 £6.95 Delivery late March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 2 weeks for delivery.
3 x 9cm plants, for spring/summer planting 190575-9C03 £18.95 Delivery late March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 2 weeks for delivery.

Or buy this as part of our Scented Crimson Perennial Pot Collection.

More Details

I completely fell in love with this plant last summer. It's a compact, flowery and hugely scented honeysuckle, ideal for a pot or smaller space in sun or dappled shade. Brilliant!

Genus Lonicera
Group/Species periclymenum
Variety Chic et Choc syn. Inov205 (PBR)
Type Deciduous Sub-shrub, Hardy Climber, Semi-evergreen Perennial
Common Name Honeysuckle
Border Position Climber, Container, Ground Cover
Soil Type Chalky, Clay, Fertile, Neutral
Scent Scented
Site Full Sun, Part Shade
Moisture Well-drained
Height 1.2m (4ft)
Spacing 1.2m (4 feet)
Sowing, Seeds, Planting Prefers a fertile, well-drained soil with roots in the shade but climbing up into sun. Great planted in a pot and trained up a trellis or obelisk. Use a minimum 45cm (18in) diameter container, cover drainage holes with crocks (such as broken pieces of old terracotta pots) to prevent compost washing through and fill with a good quality peat-free compost. When planting in the ground make a hole big enough to accommodate the root ball and sprinkle mycorrhizal fungi (Rootgrow) into the base of the planting hole. Position the plant away from a wall or fence line and angle the plant so the growth is climbing into the supports provided. Plant is at the same depth as it was growing previously, backfill and firm gently around the base before watering in well.
Care Tips Cut back established plants after flowering if they outgrow the available space, removing up to a third of the flowering shoots. Apply a generous 5-7cm (2-3in) mulch of well-rotted compost or manure around the base of the plant in spring or autumn.
Flowering July - September
Harvesting Flower production 3 months
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice
Perfect plants to create a cottage garden style

 Learn which plants to choose to create the perfect cottage garden - from pretty pinks to delicate blues and subtle whites, combine these to...

Pollinator super plants

Sarah talks about her favourite pollinator friendly plants for each month of the year.

Delivery

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 2 weeks for delivery.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Lonicera periclymenum 'Chic et Choc' reviews

* * * * - Average based on 82 reviews

* * * * -

Reviewed 24th August 2019 by Jacky

Slow to get growing but have already flowered. Should do well next year.

* * * * -

Reviewed 14th August 2019 by Lynne

Excellent quality plant which settled and flowered.Hoping for really good show next year.

* * * * *

Reviewed 13th August 2019 by Sharifah

Doing well although battling with slugs!

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd August 2019 by Carol

Good service and the honeysuckle is gorgeous, really pleased

* * * * -

Reviewed 2nd August 2019 by Clare

Quality plant, beautiful flowers, I’m looking forward to next year when it really gets growing.

* * * * -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Sandra

Lovely honeysuckle but will wait to see how it does in its second year hope I would give it 5 stars when it’s established

* * - - -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Shonagh

Very insubstantial plant. Not very vigorous

* * - - -

Reviewed 1st August 2019 by Pam

Slightly disappointed in overall look of plant.

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Penelope

I have potted this up but I haven't planted this out therefore it hasn't grown much or flowered.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Mrs Hoath

Good this plant took a while to establish and is now up and together- doing well.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Susan

Similar experience Chic et Choc has grown to about 1.5ft and as lots of small purple buds. I’m so pleased thank you

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Jo Hughes

Very pretty little honeysuckle plants but in their first year, it seems to be taking them a while to establish. I will be better able to give feedback on them next summer.

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Alison

Same as above review - read above Poor quality arrived late and poor service

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Tessa

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Joan

THis is a lovely compact Honeysuckle.

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Marilynn

Has thrived and been successful.Pretty but sadly lacking in scent. Delivery time as stated at purchase.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Paul

Very healthy plant, already flowered even though still small. Buying experience from Sarah Raven plants is always good.

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Sheena

2 have died and third is looking a bit sick even though it is in a tub that has a watering system in it. It is planted with the buddleja

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Clare

I have had plenty of lovely flowers but the perfume was very disappointing. The information said it had a very strong scent but the smell was almost non existent

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Lynne

Excellent quality plant which settled and flowered.Hoping for really good show next year.

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Derick

Great plant, doing well so far and suits chosen position beautifully.

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Coralie

Too much excessive packaging and single use plastic for delivery. The plants themselves were fine.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Doreen

Nice plant very young at the moment but have had some flowers very pretty growing well

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Clare

Beautiful flower had to reorder one plant as it died.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Jacqueline

I bought this as a replacement, and it has flowered well this summer

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Amanda

Healthy plant, got established quickly. In flower now with a beautiful fragrance.

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Alyson

Healthy looking plant. Too soon to rate performance.

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Joanna

Efficient delivery of a strong, healthy plant

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Lyndsey

* * * * *

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Gillian

good bushy plants, well rooted and healthy

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st July 2019 by Steve

Brilliant website and brochures. Easy to order. Rapids delivery. Excellent packaging. Beautifully healthy and well ordered plant.
Only growing very slowly this far and not sure why. Looks healthy enough though.

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st May 2019 by Celia

* - - - -

Reviewed 22nd November 2018 by Eavan

They were planted and two immediately died and the third didn't thrive - not one blossom - very disappointing as it was marketed as a v scented honeysuckle which I was looking forward to having in my walled garden

* * - - -

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Hilda

A very fragile plant, needed intensive care , it has survived, only in Nov producing new leaves, will nurse it through the winter and hope for the best

* * * * *

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by John

Goof experiencers with alll the various plants.
Also prompt and fair response to query questions. This year i even have on one of my chrysanths 2 different colour bloom on single plant!

* * - - -

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Pamela

healthy plant has not flowered yet has not grown.?needs to settle in

* * * * -

Reviewed 16th November 2018 by Irana

First year, so still a small plant, but what flowers it did have were pretty and fragrant. Look forward to it growing up it’s obelisk next year.

* * * * *

Reviewed 15th November 2018 by Gillian

Service excellent. The lonicera has been slow to get going but hoping for better things next year.

* * - - -

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Deb

Stayed very small, I'm hoping it will fill out a bit next year!

* * - - -

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Marilyn

Despite regular water and feed plant has struggled with very little growth.

* - - - -

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Anna

No growth may be some shoots just appeared not given up yet

* * * * -

Reviewed 13th November 2018 by Carolyn

One of the plants died it didn’t look great when it arrived but I thought it may recover.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your plants and have refunded you for them."

Posted 13th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 8th November 2018 by Ann

I haven't had a hugh success so far, hoping they'll come back stronger next year.

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Frances

Lovely little plant really hope it makes it through the winter so I can enjoy next year.

* * - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by David

Grew well to start with, but heavily mildewed late season

* * - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Maryanne

This small plant hardly grew this year (still only about 6" high now; it had no flowers either) but it is still alive and so have moved it into the greenhouse for the Winter & I'll keep an eye on it. Not sure if it had too much competition, or didn't like the hot summer...

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Helen

I have used Sarah Raven many times and are always satisfied with my plants and bulbs.

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Angela

such a compact plant - have it in a pot amongst my roses in pots

Lonicera periclymenum 'Chic et Choc'

* * * * -

Reviewed 4th November 2018 by christine mitchell

This plant took some time to get going, and didn't grow very large, but what beautiful flowers and scent. Still in flower early November.

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st October 2018 by Christine

Miserably small rooted cutting, which withered and died despite lots of TLC

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. we are sorry to hear that your Lonicera has failed to grow and have refunded you for the plant."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st October 2018 by Peggy

* - - - -

Reviewed 23rd October 2018 by Raquel

Very disappointed with this one. It never got established properly so it only has a few very sad leaves. It had some flowers at the beginning but they quickly fell off. I've been waiting all summer to see any improvements but nothing has happened. A few days ago I removed it from its pot and noticed the roots hadn't grown at all, they were as small as when I potted them up. Now in a smaller pot with new soil to see if it improves. Was quite excited about this one. A pity.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your Lonicera has failed to improve and have refunded you for the plant."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Carol

The plants unfortunately did not thrive

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. Sorry to hear your Lonicera were disappointing, if you would like to discuss this further please contact our Customer Services team at info@sarahraven.com."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Rachel

* * * * -

Reviewed 9th October 2018 by Julie

This plant has been potted on but struggled to get going - could be the weather. Hoping for more growth next year

* * - - -

Reviewed 4th October 2018 by Carolyn

One of the plants died it didn’t look great when it arrived but I thought it may recover.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your plants and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Anna

This is in a large pot and hasn’t grown hugely bushy, not spilling over sides etc, but seems very happy and flowered twice, once before all the hot weather and again in September, which I wasn’t expecting. Berries are brights and colourful too. Maybe a slow growing one?

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Lorraine

The plant is healthy and has produced flowers twice this year. The flowers are really pretty, an unusual dark colour, and very fragrant. I have it in a pot and unless it grows it will be too small to plant in a bed. In a pot it would be useful as a table center-piece when in flower.

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Gill

Excelkenr service. Packed and delivered on time. Packarging is excellent plants always in place and cannot be dislodged as with some companies i have used when your plants turn up in broken pieces and soil everywhere

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Lorna

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Caroline

quick,efficient,keep customer informed, good quality.
I kept the honeysuckle in pots for some time as they were quite small plants. Seem to be doing well now transplanted.

* * - - -

Reviewed 22nd September 2018 by Samuel

The first of these plants, bought early in the year has not flourished and is only 30 mm high. The one referred to here, plante150 mm away is flourishing and now 250 mm tall and growing well. Both have flowered. They were both planted in compost using "Rootgrow" and there have been no obvious signs of ant activity.
I'm sorry not to have been able to give higher ratings but perhaps the dwarf will start to grow during the next season!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with one of your Lonicera and have refunded you for the plant."

Posted 7th November 2018

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Barbara

I'm afraid it did not grow, it was grown as per the instructions, but it just faded away.

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Linda

They arrived well packaged but one plant was dead on arrival and the other two followed shortly afterwards.
I don’t think I’ll buy plants online again. Too much of a hit or miss.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for it."

Posted 7th November 2018

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Katherine

Died within a couple of weeks of purchasing

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for it."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 17th September 2018 by Lindsay

The first plant to arrive was little more than a dead stick. I had to complain in order to receive a healthy plant. I simply cannot understand how a reputable nursery could have despatched such an awful plant. The replacement was good - but shouldn't have been necessary.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your Lonicera arrived in an unacceptable condition and note that this was reported back to our nursery at the time as this is not the quality we expect you to receive."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 14th September 2018 by Jacqueline

The service was fine, but the plant never thrived. It arrived in February with one shoot. I planted it next to my rose but it never produced any more growth. I finally dug it out in May and discovered it hadn’t produced any roots at all. I would say, that the tulips I ordered around the same time were fabulous.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for the plants."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 13th September 2018 by Roberta

This only flowered for a very short time and hardly grew at all. I’m hoping it will be better next year.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Sarah

Growing well and flowered well.

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Jacqueline

The first plant I received did not survive i think it was a very poorly plant. But it was replaced with out issue.. but it has not don ever that well in my large pot, but it has been a very difficult season.

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Charles

I LIKE SARAH RAVENS PLANTS. ALWAYS IN SUPER CONDITION AAND READY TO POT ON OR PLANT OUT AS PER HER INSTRUCTIONS. NEVER HAD A DUD AND I HAVE ORDERED OVER A NUMBER OF YEARS.

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Jan

I wanted to try this in a pot. It flowered well but has succumbed to some mildew. I know this is common with honeysuckles. I plan to give it a good prune at the end of the season.

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Allison

Still to small/young a plant to tell how well it will do once established. However it had some beautiful and quite large (in comparison to its height) flowers. Am very hopeful given it survived some exceptionally hot and dry weather.

* - - - -

Reviewed 11th September 2018 by Iris

This plant has made no progress. Hardly visible.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 4th September 2018 by Elizabeth

not sure, not given the best spot, will give it some TLC!!

* - - - -

Reviewed 4th September 2018 by Mrs Seear

Service always very good but Lonicera’chic et choc was very disappointing . It didn’t thrive despite following instructions, and died shortly afterwards.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your Lonicera have failed to thrive. We note that you have been in touch with our Customer Services team about this and that the plant will be replaced when next available."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Jayne

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Mrs Watts

Grew nicely, berries pretty

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Ruth

First one was not too healthy and died quite soon so it was replaced without question and the new one is glorious.

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Eftihia

Beautiful plant, the scent is incredible.It is close to the ones I am used to, like the honeysuckle you see in Greek gardens, heavily perfumed. I have another one, in orange color, but no scent. this one ticks all the boxes. The color combination is great too.It is a short variety, as it did not seem to grow very much , considering we had a warm half-summer. The quality of plants is very good, the service impeccable; thank you very much

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Ruth

Plant arrived in good condition and has flowered well around my salvia love and wishes

Stunning!

* * * * *

Reviewed 9th June 2018 by Alison

I am delighted with this honeysuckle, the colours are absolutely stunning, the prettiest one I’ve ever seen. It grew really well from the moment I planted it.