Polygonatum hybridum (Solomon's Seal)

Solomon’s Seal is a must-have for the shady garden, with beautiful arching stems. More
1 bare root, for spring planting 510909-1BR £4.95 Delivery late December
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
3 bare roots, for spring planting 510909-3BR £12.95 Delivery late December
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
More Details

Solomon's Seal is a must-have for the shady garden, with beautiful arching stems.

Genus Polygonatum
Variety syn. multiflorum, x hybridum
Type Hardy Perennial
Common Name Solomon's Seal
Border Position Back
Soil Type Chalky, Clay, Fertile, Neutral, Sandy
Scent Unscented
Site Part Shade, Shade
Moisture Moist but Well-drained
Height 100cm (39in)
Spacing 40cm (16in)
Care Tips Carefully propagate in spring, by divisions. Grows best in moist, fertile soil, does not like dry soil. Prune to base in Autumn. Harmful if eaten.
Flowering May - June
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice

We don't currently have additional advice on using / growing this particular product on our website, but if you do have a question that isn't answered on this page then please give us a call on 0345 092 0283 and we'll happily chat through any queries you may have, or email us on plantadvice@sarahraven.com (for advice on all things growing) or info@sarahraven.com for anything else.

Delivery

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Polygonatum hybridum (Solomon's Seal) reviews

* * * - - Average based on 14 reviews

* * - - -

Reviewed 9th November 2018 by Lindsay

Only one has flowered and that was very late as flowering now!I have other Solomons Seal from previous years/suppliers that have been fine. Disappointed.
One of the Dahlias that I bought did not grow at all but the others were lovely and I only lifted them last week.

* * - - -

Reviewed 8th November 2018 by June

Service is always first class and I haven't as yet had a problem with anything I have purchased. That is up to now, one of the roots was a good size but the other two were on the small size. I did try hard to get them growing and the larger of the three did sprout but in the end I lost it. Having said that it may well have been my fault as it's hard to know why this happened. It certainly won't put me off purchasing from Sarah's website as I have been purchasing from her for a long time and this is my first failure.

I would recommend anyone to buy from this website as the plants, bulbs and seeds are value for money and you get interesting plants. I have also purchased from her accessories and they are exceptional quality, good value and again unusual.

The three stars are only for this purchase, I would normally give 5 stars.

* - - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Claire

Very disappointed with this, it did not grow at all. No roots, no shoots, absolutely nothing at all

* - - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Mrs Clark

Unfortunately all 3 plants were eaten in thier pots so I'm unable to rate them.

* * - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Polly

It did mange to flower before it, simply, wilted and died. It did;t appear to be attacked by anything and didn't go short of water or get too hot - just didn't want to be here really.

* - - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Angela

unfortunately this didn't grow

* * * * -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Maryanne

Bought in the Sale when my garden ones had almost gone over.. Emptied them out of their pots a couple of weeks back to see if I'd killed them - but, no, they have shoots. They'll be fine next year I'm sure. I love Soloman's Seal :-)

* - - - -

Reviewed 20th September 2018 by Valerie

Planted as directed but did not grow.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Polygonatum and have refunded you ."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 20th September 2018 by Eveline

One of seals has not grown but other two were lovely,hopefully the third will come up next spring

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Caroline

It was planted according to the instructions on arrival but never developed beyond how it arrived.I threw it away in April.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Polygonatum and have refunded you for this."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Elizabeth

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Karen

None of these roots came to anything and were very disappointing, we tried very hard to get them going but none of them did anything! Have thrown on the compost heap now in disgust!

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Karen

Three tiny tubers arrived, two of which were soft. I planted up, but they have done nothing. I ordered them in December at full price (£10.50) for delivery in a April, but found that they were reduced down to less than half price by the time they were delivered to me. I can see why!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Polygonatum and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

Graceful arches

* * * * *

Reviewed 18th May 2018 by Malene Gee

I bought bare root plants of polygonatum from you last year and they are magnificent.
Very tall arches with an abundance of creamy hanging flowers.
Can’t wait till you have them back in stock again.