Half-hardy Climber Collection

This pair of climbers on their silver birch teepees gave me more pleasure for more months in the garden than anything else last summer and autumn. More
10 seedlings 190411-10 £12.50 Delivery early May
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
20 seedlings 190411-20 £22.95 Delivery early May
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
More Details

This pair of climbers on their silver birch teepees gave me more pleasure for more months in the garden than anything else last summer and autumn. We ended up bringing the pots into the greenhouse to decorate with fairy lights at Christmas.

Hugely recommended.

This collection contains 5 or 10 seedlings each of:

Type Half-Hardy Annual Climber
Border Position Climber
Soil Type Fertile, Neutral
Height 2-2.5m (6.5-7ft)
Spacing 50cm (20in)
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice
The very best annual climbers

Sow these climbers in your garden in the spring, and you'll enjoy them well into the autumn.

Delivery

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Half-hardy Climber Collection reviews

* * * * - Average based on 30 reviews

* * - - -

Reviewed 22nd November 2018 by Maureen

The yellow seedlings were very good, but they would have made more of a show if I'd planted 3 together.

The purple seedlings didn't want to grow in my garden, they struggled in the heat and eventually died despite watering every day.

More ignorance on my part I think.

* * * * *

Reviewed 18th November 2018 by Jeremy

* * * * *

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Audrey

Well packed and arrived safely and now planted seem very healthy

* * * * *

Reviewed 10th November 2018 by Margaret

After a slow start they are still flowering will buy again

* * * * -

Reviewed 8th November 2018 by Rosemary

The thunbergia has been brilliant - in big pots with other things and survived drought well. Still going strong.
The rhodochiton didn’t take at all this year, either in pots or the ground, unlike last year when it was beautiful. Heat and watering problems possibly to blame.

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st October 2018 by Peggy

I chose them for a place without enough sun to flower well - my fault!

* * * * *

Reviewed 24th October 2018 by Sian

I loved this combination of climbing plants especially the purple clangers and I would definitely consider buying again.
In fact they are still flowering in the garden, although the black eyed Susans are virtually at an end - very long lasting.

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Rachel

* * * * -

Reviewed 6th October 2018 by Christine

Delivered in good condition and at appropriate time

* * * * -

Reviewed 5th October 2018 by Muriel

Again disappointing, the black eyed Susan all flowered acid yellow instead of the soft orange! Appreciate this is random selection but still a shame, and they swamped the rhodotichon totally.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Climber Collection and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 5th October 2018 by Elizabeth

The service and purchase was 5star however the most of the plants failed to thrive this summer with only one actually producing a couple of flowers.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"

Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Climber Collection, the unusually hot Summer could have affected flowering. Please contact our Customer Services team at info@sarahraven.com if you would like to discuss this further.
"

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 4th October 2018 by Val

These small plants were excellent quality. Unfortunately, due to the extreme heat in summer the rhodocytin gave up the ghost, no fault with the quality just circumstances. however the black eyed Susan has been a great success and is still flowering profusely in early October.

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Chloe

All of the yellow ones grew but none of the purple bells survived although they arrived in good condition and I kept watering and feeding once planted.

* - - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Janet

The hot dry summer meant they didn’t really get going, even with watering. One plant is now blooming , but hasn’t scaled any heights! The rest rather gave up the ghost I’m afraid.

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Anne

PLANTED AS INSTRUCTED, BUT ONLY A COUPLE GREW.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your seedlings and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Susan

I really liked these and gave some to friends. Very quirky.

* * - - -

Reviewed 20th September 2018 by Lesley

I delayed delivery as I was going to be away - this was fine. They were teeny, tiny when they arrived and I potted them up several times before planting out and watering carefully owing to the dry summer. They have only just really got going - in time to be frosted. I note the ones in a big pot did far better than any planted in the soil (even though in sheltered, sunny spots) Perhaps the fact they were so small later on in the season was why they were such late developers. The Thunbergia in particular was extremely slow to flower, and they are still quite sparse, despite copious feeding and watering.

* * - - -

Reviewed 20th September 2018 by Beryl

The black eyed susie was very good, would consider buying that again, but the other climber never really flowered, disappeared in the garden

* * * * -

Reviewed 20th September 2018 by Janet

Always peak condition but preferred Thunbergia to Rhodochiton. But that's just personal opinion.

* * * * -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Paulina

Some still in flower, the pale yellow one's performed the best

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Susan

Give a good display in hanging baskets, still going strong in mid September. Will buy again next year.

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Julia

I loved the look of these in the catalogue so ordered them. The first seedlings I was sent didn’t do very well, five of the ten died. I contacted SR customer service and they replaced the order with ten more. The second batch were great and are growing well and look fabulous.

* * * * -

Reviewed 4th September 2018 by Angela

They have been good flowering for weeks, I put them in pots growing up canes another time I would put them into the ground as I had a problem with them being blown over.

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Azzie

I have already written about this item and the one I did not receive
in the first section

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Lesley

Thunbergia done really well. rhodochitron , only one flowered,have planted previously 2017 when did well so think its due to extreme heat and dryness

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Mrs Bleasby

This collection arrived in good condition and performed and is still performing very well

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st August 2018 by Mrs Kemp

They have performed very poorly, nothing like the picture. I would not buy them again

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. we are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your half hardy climber collection and have left you a credit on your account to use against your next order.."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 30th August 2018 by Syd

* * * * -

Reviewed 29th August 2018 by Jacqline

Thunbergia great, purple bells died

* * * - -

Reviewed 31st July 2018 by Diana Cross

I’ve been really pleased with the thunbergia- vigorous, healthy, fast growing and lots of flowers. The purple bells were a huge disappointment though. They looked weak when they arrived, and several quickly withered despite my best efforts to support them. There were weeds and grass growing in the pots too. Only 1 of the 5 I received is still alive, and it’s not a pretty sight as it looks so unhealthy.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your rhodochiton plants and appreciate that you have waited patiently for them to improve. If we can help you in any way please do contact our customer service team at info@sarahraven.com or by calling 0345 092 0283 and our team will assist you further.
Kind Regards, The Sarah Raven Team"

Posted 1st August 2018