Erysimum 'Winter Orchid'

Erysimum 'Winter Orchid' is my new favourite plant, which I now have in pots outside my back door. It flowers almost all year – honestly – and unlike traditional perennial wallflowers, its flowers are scented like the biennial forms. More
5 young plants 510136-5 £12.95 Delivery late March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
10 young plants 510136-10 £22.95 Delivery late March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
More Details

Erysimum 'Winter Orchid' is my new favourite plant, which I now have in pots outside my back door. It flowers almost all year – honestly – and unlike traditional perennial wallflowers, its flowers are scented like the biennial forms. Flowers emerge as a coppery orange, turning to purple as they age. Hugely recommended.

These perennial wallflowers are renowned for flowering long and hard from spring right through the summer, often the first things to come into full bloom with the hellebores and daphnes. I like picking these for spring bunches too.

Genus Erysimum
Variety Winter Orchid
Type Short-lived Perennial
Common Name Wallflower
Border Position Middle
Soil Type Chalky, Neutral
Scent Scented
Site Full Sun, Part Shade
Moisture Well-drained
Height 30cm (12in)
Spacing 40cm (16in)
Care Tips Mulch well to prevent water loss in summer.
Flowering March - July
Vase Life Last up to 10 days even in a hot room which will bring out their scent.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice
Early flowering biennials for spring

Unite your spring bulb displays by filling the gaps with early flowering biennials.  Sarah explains how.

How to create a butterfly garden

If we want to preserve our native butterflies, we need to grow the right plants in our gardens to encourage them.

Delivery

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Erysimum 'Winter Orchid' reviews

* * * * - Average based on 34 reviews

* * * * *

Reviewed 22nd November 2018 by Rosalind

Giving me so much pleasure at this moment even good picked for the house

* * * * -

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Sue

Plants arrived well packaged and healthy. I planted them out quickly but they haven't thrived as much as I expected. Certainly not like the plants Sarah Raven had described. I am hopeful that next year they will become more substantial and endlessly flower.

* * * * -

Reviewed 16th November 2018 by Irana

Pretty flowers but colours not as intense as photos would suggest. Give a nice fragrance by the back doorstep.

* * * * *

Reviewed 16th November 2018 by Janice

Once again, beautiful plants on arrival, and despite being virtually smothered by some very exuberant Cosmos most of the summer, are now in full bloom and scent.

* * * * *

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Anne

Again, excellent plants which flowered earlier in the year and now in flower again.

* * * * *

Reviewed 8th November 2018 by Rosemary

These just give and go on giving! In a large pot with the thunbergia and still going strong. Love the colour which seems to be richer than ever in the autumn light.

* * * * -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Alison

still looking good

* * * * *

Reviewed 18th October 2018 by mandy cairns

These plants arrived in great condition and are still flowering their socks off up here in Scotland in the middle of October!

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Nigel

Plants were received in very good condition and are now planted out and doing well

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Keith

They have done nothing all year, on the way to the bin in the next few days.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Erysimum and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Juliette

As usual my Sarah Raven plants were strong and healthy.
They look happy in their bit of the garden and I look forward to seeing them flower next spring, when they will flower with my spring bulbs
and all will look beautiful.

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Susan

These suffered from the heat but were good.

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Rosamund

Good service, prompt delivery

* * * * *

Reviewed 21st September 2018 by Alison

Yes, they were sturdy plants, I kept 3 and gave the rest to my daughter as she had admired mine pervious purchases of this plant.
I think I bought 10 plants.

* * * * *

Reviewed 13th September 2018 by Kath

i received five plants but one was not as healthy as the others. I did try to help it and asked for help. I was asked to send a phote which I did and was offered five more plants. I did say I only needed one but that was the minimum. I could also have ordered more plants at the same time but did not want any. It was way over what I expected and would have been happy with a refund for one plant. I look forward to next year to enjoy them and did share with gardening friends. Thank you.

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Christine

Disappointing quality despite having replacement plants sent.
Plants have grown and produced foliage but very little flower despite sunny warm aspect and reasonable care being given.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Erysimum and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* - - - -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Ann

Service fine. The first order sent wilted quickly and had very poor root system so you sent me another pack. Unfortunately the second order you sent was the same and I struggled to grow them. Although I looked after them very carefully they never made good roots and eventually I had to dispose of them. Until now I have not bothered to complain for a second time but would like another replacement order if and when you get them in stock again.
The other colour of ersysium I purchased are absolutely fine and are flowering beautifully!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Erysimum and have arranged for you to receive replacements when available later this season which we hope will be more successful for you."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 4th September 2018 by Anne

* - - - -

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Linda

I'm afraid only one of the plants out of 5 has survived

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your Erysimum 'Winter Orchid' have failed to survive. We have arranged for a replacement set to be sent out from our autumn stock and hope that these will be more successful for you."

Posted 7th November 2018

Non stop flowering, lovely in winter

* * * * *

Reviewed 25th August 2018 by Yoshiko Harrop

I bought these twice.
First time was 5 plugs June 2017. They were planted straight into the ground and grew well. They started flowering late summer and have been flowering ever since. Didn’t even mind the snow from the Beast from The East, and specially beautiful during the winter months.
The second time was autumn planting 2017, 3 x 9cm pot plants. I planted them with tulip Paul Scherer in a wine tub and they looked spectacular even before and after the tulips flowered. They are planted into the ground at the end of summer and grew bigger even during the prolonged heatwave time and still have some flowers.
I like the fact that they flower almost all the time like Sarah says, specially in the coldest months but what I like most is their colours. They change purple to pink, orange and I always see all the colour and look fantastic.
I will definitely buy them again IF they ever start showing signs of getting tired.

Survived the WInter but sadly not the sun!

* * - - -

Reviewed 5th August 2018 by Liz S

I bought the 9cm plants last year (2017) and whilst the plants survived the freezing winter and a foot of snow they never really got going.
Despite (the compost) being watered well (as in pots), they sadly just fizzled out and never showed any hint of any flowers to come.
My other 9cm wallflowers from Sarah Raven, which were planted in the garden, did much better.

Sweetpea seedlings

* * * * *

Reviewed 4th August 2018 by Susan Wright

After ordering onelot of sweet pea seedlings and and wrote and complained because some of the plants were almost dead or were of very poor quality. You kindly sent some replacement ones and they are the best sweetpeas I have ever grown. thank you so much for bringing such joy to my life- my mother was known as the sweet pea queen when she was alive and each year ever since she died I have tried to emulate her achievements and this year I feel I have equalled hers. Very many thanks. I just wish I lived (I live in Devon) nearer to where Sarah has her wonderful courses. One of these days I must treat myself. I wish she would do some more gardening programmes on the TV. Regards Sue Wright

STILL NO FLOWERS!

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2018 by SAMANTHA BEER

Unfortunately, as with the other reviews on here, none of my seedlings have flowered, or even done very well, despite having been well looked after from the moment I received them. I planted some into the ground and some into pots, but the tallest and healthiest of these are still only between 10 and 15cm tall! These have been classified as short-lived perennials, so if I lose these this winter, they will have been a completely pointless purchase.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for taking time to review our site. We are sorry to hear of your disapointment with your erysimum. Please contact our customer service team at info@sarahraven.com or by calling 0345 092 0283 and our team will arrange for replacements to be sent out when available .
Kind Regards, The Sarah Raven Team

"

Posted 1st August 2018

Low success rate with this beautiful plant

* * - - -

Reviewed 31st July 2018 by RedJonah

Of the 3 small plants that I received and potted into separate large containers straight away, one did nothing and died within a few weeks, another grew to a small size and flowered briefly, before dying in spring. I have one left, which although lovely, is a disappointing result.
I do love this plant, so I shall buy some more for next year with fingers crossed for more robust plants.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for taking time to review our site. We are sorry to hera that your erysimum have failed to thrive. Please do contact our customer service team at info@sarahraven.com or by calling 0345 092 0283 and our team will be happy to arrange replacments for you.
Kind Regards, The Sarah Raven Team

"

Posted 1st August 2018

Disappointing

* * - - -

Reviewed 26th June 2018 by Christine Scott

When I received these plants 4 out of the 5 seemed healthy, one was considerably smaller and weaker looking than the others. After planting them that smaller plant eventually died and now another is also struggling. I planted them straight away but they show no signs of flowering. It is disappointing as the images on the website shows a plant with beautiful colours.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your plants and appreciate that you have waited patiently for them to improve. If we can help you in any way please do contact our customer service team at info@sarahraven.com or by calling 0345 092 0283 and our team will assist you further.
Kind Regards, The Sarah Raven Team


"

Posted 6th July 2018

2 out of 5 ...

* * - - -

Reviewed 16th June 2018 by Pauline Murphy

Am giving these two stars because only 2 out of my 5 plants survived. I suspect like Tracy says the other 3 weren't rooted properly, but I didn't spot this at first. I planted them up into pots straight away, and while 4 out of the 5 seemed to grow quite well, bushing out nicely, the last one just withered away. Then I was potting them up into a bigger pot, and as it tipped the plant upside down to remove it from the pot, for 2 out of the 4 the bushy plant just literally came away from the compost leaving whatever root there was behind. I am well into middle age and have been gardening for years, but I have never experienced anything like this, the plant was looking bushy and healthy, but didn't seem to be connected to any root? Anyway, my 2 are doing well, and the first flowers have arrived and they are lovely, so all is not lost.

Hoping for a good show this year

* * * - -

Reviewed 23rd May 2018 by Tracy

These are described as small plants but were, in honesty, barely rooted cuttings. I planted them on the day of receipt. 3 out of 5 had a good root but two were not rooted at all despite having healthy top growth. I received replacements for these and all are doing well in the greenhouse, but top growth is slow. I am hoping that they will flower this year, as I have a pot waiting that they will be perfect for. The website would be improved if the expected flowering month and year was included as these are very young plants indeed and I am not confident they will flower in the near future. Next summer they might look like the beautiful catalogue pictures.

Setting Sun

* * * * *

Reviewed 27th February 2018 by DAWN ROBSON

I agree with all the other comments and would add if you can place a few where they will catch the rays of the setting sun the plant shines like glowing gems. I'm going to take Sarah's advise and plant a few in pots

Brilliant display and beautiful scent

* * * * *

Reviewed 17th March 2017 by Rachel Hinde

These plug plants have performed beautifully. I potted them on and kept them in the greenhouse over winter. Now in full bloom with a spectacular display of two-tone colour and a beautiful scent. The plants are super healthy and very good value.

Gorgeous

* * * * -

Reviewed 6th June 2016 by Dwynwen Spargo

Have just started to open over the last few days and the colour and scent of these erysimum are gorgeous - many thanks!

An absolute beauty

* * * * *

Reviewed 27th March 2015 by Susie Holden

Very easy to grow and almost continuous flowers in such beautiful tones. Looking forward to planting more of these this year.

Failure!

* * * * -

Reviewed 17th November 2014 by Anna Smith

Having read other reviews it must be me! Although I pot up plugs (also for other sources) to grow on prior to planting put they never seem to thrive, although I am a diligent gardener. I have just ( mid Nov) planted out some small cuttings from the originals which went woody and did nothing all summer.

If I want this plant again I will probably buy a thriving plant as plugs generally (also from other similar providers) do not work for me.

Non stop flowering

* * * * *

Reviewed 23rd October 2014 by Ros Lee

Received very strong seedlings from you which I grew on successfully. They have been in the border since late April, and, just as Sarah said, they haven't stopped flowering, and it's now late October! Really cheerful colours that cheer me up on these overcast Autumn days.

What a beauty!!

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd July 2014 by rosemary dorman

Just adore this lovely erysium - beautiful two tone flower!