Rhodochiton atrosanguineus (Purple Bells)

The most asked about plant in the garden last summer, with mini hanging purple bells, complete with the clanger inside. More
15 seeds 153025 £3.50 In stock
[?]
Items will be despatched in 5-7 working days.
5 seedlings 190477-5 £5.95 Delivery early May
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
10 seedlings 190477-10 £10.95 Delivery early May
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
5 jumbo seedlings 190477-SP05 £8.95 Delivery late May
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Or buy this as part of our Half-hardy Climber Collection.

More Details

Beautiful elegant hanging bells – including the clanger – in the richest purple.

Genus Rhodochiton
Group/Species atrosanguineus
Variety Purple Bells
Type Tender Perennial (grown as a Half-Hardy Annual)
Common Name Purple Bell Vine
Soil Type Chalky, Neutral, Sandy
Site Full Sun
Moisture Moist but Well-drained, Well-drained
Height 2.5m (8ft 2in)
Spacing 50cm (20in)
Flowering July - December
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice
The very best annual climbers

Sow these climbers in your garden in the spring, and you'll enjoy them well into the autumn.

Delivery

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Seeds Delivery - Items will be despatched in 5-7 working days.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Rhodochiton atrosanguineus (Purple Bells) reviews

* * * * - Average based on 67 reviews

* * * * *

Reviewed 23rd November 2018 by Sheila

* * * * *

Reviewed 23rd November 2018 by Mark

perfect plants perfectly packaged

* * - - -

Reviewed 22nd November 2018 by Judith

Didn’t grow very tall and hoping they come back next year as sheltered

* * * * *

Reviewed 21st November 2018 by Barbara

They arrived in good condition and did really well

* * - - -

Reviewed 14th November 2018 by Helen

disappointing,took ages to get going, now very prolific

* - - - -

Reviewed 9th November 2018 by Ann

I lost all the seedlings as they were very weak looking on delivery.I potted them up and kept them in the greenhouse but they never came round, but all the seeds I bought did really well. Ann

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We care very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton seedlings and have refunded you for them."

Posted 10th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 9th November 2018 by Lindsay

Maybe the weather affected the plants but only 3 of the ten seeds that I planted (still have some for next year) germinated and the plants didn't seem happy.

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Frances

Been absolutely beautiful and is still flowering in November. Will be ordering this again next year.

* - - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Ann

I lost all the seedlings as they were very weak looking on delivery.I potted them up and kept them in the greenhouse but they never came round, but all the seeds I bought did really well. Ann

* - - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Sarah

Failed to grow fully for first time ever

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Alan

Still flowering after starting about 10 weeks ago
Good value
Lots of "what's that" comments

* - - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Janet

Had no success in germinating these seeds

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Pamela

* * * * -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Angela

Pretty climber = have kept some pods to dry and germinate.

* * - - -

Reviewed 14th October 2018 by Sophie

Only one germnitauons out of 12

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Lnda

These were lovely strong plants which grew well and are still flowering profusely. I shall be ordering more next year!

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Andrea

Only 1 seed germinated! However, it was a stunning climber. Pity about the other 14 that didn’t germinate.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the majority of your Rhodochiton and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Maggie

Unfortunately I didn’t manage to germinate any of the seeds. I took them to France where it was very hot for most of the summer so perhaps I was not watering them enough.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear your seeds didn't germinate, yes lack of water could have been the cause of this. If you would like to discuss this further you are welcome to contact us at info@sarahraven.com."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 11th October 2018 by Bernice

These flowered quickly but not quite as vigorous as last year

* * * * *

Reviewed 11th October 2018 by Stephanie

Lovely healthy plants flowered beautifully

* * - - -

Reviewed 9th October 2018 by Julie

Just tried a few seeds this year and I think the weather has made it struggle. Hoping these small plants will pick up next year and still have some seed left to try again.

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th October 2018 by Fiona

Lovely flowers and the bonus of beautiful Autumn leaf colour now. Delivery and packaging very good.

* * * * *

Reviewed 4th October 2018 by Diane

As always an excellent service from ordering to delivery, communication keeps you informed of progress and delivery dates. Plants very well packaged so never any damaged plants. Always a pleasure never a “let down”.

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Ela

All seeds germinated but I couldn’t continue growing them and they died

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Barbara

Started off looking as if they would grow well but as soon as planted out they stood still and didn't fulfil their promise I have grown these many times before when they were brilliant but this time I ended pulling them out as they were ruining the overall appearance of the border. Not sure why as they were given support and watered well in the dry season

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Patricia

Your service was brilliant as usual. I only rated the rhodochiton as a 3 star product because they really struggled in this hot dry summer in my dry chalky garden. Not fair to judge them harshly really as I was away quite a bit and thehy needed more watering. The plants when delivered were small but good little plants.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Linda

Great service. These are still flowering, hopefully will continue to do until the frost arrives.

* - - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Sue

All 5 plants died only had one that grew a few inches very very disappointed 😞

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Susan

Lovely. Very interesting climber which I grew in a big pot with pea sticks

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Andrea

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Deanne

Splendid plants, still flowering now in conservatory for autumn

* - - - -

Reviewed 28th September 2018 by Linda

Only 1 seed germinated. Was I unlucky???

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton seeds and have arranged for you to receive a replacement packet to try again with next spring."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 22nd September 2018 by Rebecca

I can't rate these, as I didn't get round to planting them in the garden

* * * * -

Reviewed 21st September 2018 by Kathleen

* * - - -

Reviewed 21st September 2018 by Gilia

ho seminato tutti i semi comperati da voi ma purtroppo Rhodochiton non ha funzionato! Nessuna piantina è cresciuta.
Forse proverò l'anno prossimo.

Mi spiace che non spedite in Svizzera piantine, bulbi, oggetti per
il giardinaggio.
saluti

* * * * -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Karen

These all came to full growth, if slow, but are doing well now

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Roderick

all seedlings grew well and flowered profusely,very happy with these.

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Edith

For the 2nd year running this has been lovely. I have it in a pot in a sheltered location and it has flowered non stop.

* * * * -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Linda

Such a hot summer, not ideal for this, but no problems with quality of plants

* * - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Katherine

* * - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Janis

very unusual delicate blooms but unfortunately this summer has been way to hot for them and they have suffered

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Elizabeth

The plants were very small and didn’t survive.

* * - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Sheila

Disappointing very few flowers

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Lynda

This was the third year I bought them .The first year they gave a stunning display .The second year were not good .I decided to try again this year and was extremely disappointed in the poor rate of growth and very poor display.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Guy

Had a great success rate germination wise with these but sadly only one made it past the seedling stage - I may've started them a bit early as the one that survived took literally months to really get going!

However, that one has been the star of my garden all thru late summer and now in Autumn, masses of purple flowers and has been stunning in a pot with a pink arctosis for mid-range interest and a blue anagallis monelii trailing over the edges.

Def going to be growing these again.

* * - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Loveday

They were a bit thin and fragile.but I was very impressed by the packaging .they grew fine at first but the hot summer took its toll and I ve still got one left .I think the garden is too windy

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by H Broster

Excellent plants from seeds successful sowing

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Caroline

My first lots of seedlings arrived too early for me without a greenhouse, but i've now discovered I can delay delivery which would suit me better. Or order them later - doh. They were kindly replaced by SR and the second lot have been fantastic. They are a gem - the flowers are pretty but very small - its the green lanterns that are so amazing and pretty. I'd recommend for something a bit different.

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Liz

Planted careful and kept watered but they all failed and died.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Angela

They are mixed. Some have come up fine and others have died after growing reasonably well for a while.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear that your Rhodochiton seeds were not successful and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Victoria

Good germination,excellent customer service

* * * * *

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Penelope A Graham

Very easy to grow. They are amazing plants to look at lots of positive comments

* * - - -

Reviewed 13th September 2018 by Kathryn

Service was excellent as always. However, I struggled to grow the Rhodochiton. Even after two packets of seeds, I ended up with only a couple of viable seedlings, one of which looks lovely. This was rather less than I'd hoped for. I don't normally have problems growing from seed.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. In our experience, Rhodochiton germinate best at 15-21°C, but germination can take between 14-42 days so is best started undercover in early spring."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Val

These plants are loveable! They have grown well in conical hanging baskets. Love the fact that once the 'clanger's' have flowered beautifully and then dropped the 'bell' continues to stay in colour and is still decorative. Will definitely be purchasing again next spring. Many friends will be doing the same, they have been most impressed by the plants in my baskets.

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Helen

Great plug plants thank you

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Jan

These have done well. The flowers are smaller and delicate than I thought they would be from the catalogue picture. I grew some in a pot and they have wound their way around the garden bench looking very pretty.

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Bex

Unfortunately these did not flourish, growing about 30cm, producing a couple of flowers and then dying. I was kindly offered replacements but the same things happened. I purchased the Rhodochiton alongside thunbergia which have shot off and have been flowering all summer.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton seedlings and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Jayne

Fantastic! Anew find and a favourite for further years

* * - - -

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Mr Pipe

Four of the seedlings did not grow on as vigorously as the rest.

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Marilyn

very interesting plant - not seen these before. Lots of bells and clappers. am growing them intertwined with runner beans and they compliment each other and attract bees.
.

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Teresa

I planted them in large pot around an orange dahlia they hang down beautifully and have flowered none stop!

* * - - -

Reviewed 30th August 2018 by Carole

They took a long time to grow, especially when we saw them in Wisley. No comparison. It is the end of August and only now have the three remaining plants flowered, as two didn't survive.

We opened our garden for the N.G.S. So I was hoping they would be in full flower for third Sunday in July.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Rhodochiton seedlings and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* - - - -

Reviewed 29th August 2018 by Judy

They didnt work - in my heated greenhouse - received new packet from you which I.shall plant in future but was very disappointed.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with the Rhodochiton seeds. We are unaware of any problems with these seeds and would recommend that they are sown and placed in an ideal temp. 15-21°C. Germination takes 14-42 days . If you experience further problems please do let us know."

Posted 7th November 2018

What a surprise!

* * * * *

Reviewed 4th May 2018 by Abigail Speller

I think this came in a group of container plants - a tiny thing, unknown to me - but how it grew! It became the joy of a garden wall, tumbling, light but covered in, yes, bells, with clanger, delicate and subtle purple. Much admired. Surprosingly, in most places, lasted all through the winter.. Will it blossom again? who knows -have ordered more

Absolute delight

* * * * *

Reviewed 15th March 2017 by Christine

I planted this in a pot to climb up an arch which hosts a clematis alpina and a summer flowering clematis. The rhodochiton excelled itself clothing the arch mingling with the fluffy seed heads and brining pleasure till the first frosts. I shall definitely be doing that again

Unusual, long lasting climber

* * * * *

Reviewed 4th February 2017 by Anne-Marie Kotowicz

I have a very small, quite shady garden and for years have been looking for a quick growing climber to liven up my boring fence. The Rhodochiton purple bells were perfect. They rocketed up the fence (with the help of some fine netting to support them), flowering for over 6 months and have only just died off. I will definitely be planting these again.

Lovely subtle climber.

* * * * *

Reviewed 20th June 2016 by Yvonne Lally

I first saw this growing in a pot in a sunny courtyard in Cornwall. Two years ago, I grew from seed in the Midlands and the results were spectacular. The plants overwintered in an unheated greenhouse and flowered the following year. This year I bought the plug plants and as I write (Mid June) they are wonderful. In my experience these really do go on and on and always prompt conversation. Recommended.