Lonicera periclymenum 'Chic et Choc'

I completely fell in love with this plant last summer. It's a compact, flowery and hugely scented honeysuckle, ideal for a pot or smaller space in sun or dappled shade. Brilliant! More
1 x 8cm plant 190575-8C01 £6.95 Delivery late February
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.
3 x 8cm plants 190575-8C03 £16.50 Delivery late February
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Or buy this as part of our Scented Crimson Perennial Pot Collection.

More Details

I completely fell in love with this plant last summer. It's a compact, flowery and hugely scented honeysuckle, ideal for a pot or smaller space in sun or dappled shade. Brilliant!

Genus Lonicera
Variety 'Chic et Choc'
Type Deciduous Sub-shrub, Hardy Climber, Semi-evergreen Perennial
Common Name Honeysuckle
Border Position Climber, Container, Ground Cover
Soil Type Chalky, Clay, Fertile, Neutral
Scent Scented
Site Full Sun, Part Shade
Moisture Moist but Well-drained
Height 90cm (36in)
Spacing 1.2m (4 feet)
Sowing, Seeds, Planting Sprinkle mycorrhizal fungi (Rootgrow) into the base of the planting hole and water well after planting
Care Tips Honeysuckles are prone to mildew. To limit this, keep the soil moist and allow good air flow around and through the plant by growing it on an obelisk.
Flowering July - September
Harvesting Flower production 3 months
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice

We don't currently have additional advice on using / growing this particular product on our website, but if you do have a question that isn't answered on this page then please give us a call on 0345 092 0283 and we'll happily chat through any queries you may have, or email us on plantadvice@sarahraven.com (for advice on all things growing) or info@sarahraven.com for anything else.

Delivery

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 1 week for delivery.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Lonicera periclymenum 'Chic et Choc' reviews

* * * * - Average based on 40 reviews

* * - - -

Reviewed 8th November 2018 by Ann

I haven't had a hugh success so far, hoping they'll come back stronger next year.

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Frances

Lovely little plant really hope it makes it through the winter so I can enjoy next year.

* * - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by David

Grew well to start with, but heavily mildewed late season

* * - - -

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Maryanne

This small plant hardly grew this year (still only about 6" high now; it had no flowers either) but it is still alive and so have moved it into the greenhouse for the Winter & I'll keep an eye on it. Not sure if it had too much competition, or didn't like the hot summer...

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Helen

I have used Sarah Raven many times and are always satisfied with my plants and bulbs.

* * * * *

Reviewed 7th November 2018 by Angela

such a compact plant - have it in a pot amongst my roses in pots

Lonicera periclymenum 'Chic et Choc'

* * * * -

Reviewed 4th November 2018 by christine mitchell

This plant took some time to get going, and didn't grow very large, but what beautiful flowers and scent. Still in flower early November.

* - - - -

Reviewed 31st October 2018 by Christine

Miserably small rooted cutting, which withered and died despite lots of TLC

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. we are sorry to hear that your Lonicera has failed to grow and have refunded you for the plant."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 31st October 2018 by Peggy

* - - - -

Reviewed 23rd October 2018 by Raquel

Very disappointed with this one. It never got established properly so it only has a few very sad leaves. It had some flowers at the beginning but they quickly fell off. I've been waiting all summer to see any improvements but nothing has happened. A few days ago I removed it from its pot and noticed the roots hadn't grown at all, they were as small as when I potted them up. Now in a smaller pot with new soil to see if it improves. Was quite excited about this one. A pity.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your Lonicera has failed to improve and have refunded you for the plant."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Carol

The plants unfortunately did not thrive

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. Sorry to hear your Lonicera were disappointing, if you would like to discuss this further please contact our Customer Services team at info@sarahraven.com."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th October 2018 by Rachel

* * * * -

Reviewed 9th October 2018 by Julie

This plant has been potted on but struggled to get going - could be the weather. Hoping for more growth next year

* * - - -

Reviewed 4th October 2018 by Carolyn

One of the plants died it didn’t look great when it arrived but I thought it may recover.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your plants and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Anna

This is in a large pot and hasn’t grown hugely bushy, not spilling over sides etc, but seems very happy and flowered twice, once before all the hot weather and again in September, which I wasn’t expecting. Berries are brights and colourful too. Maybe a slow growing one?

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Lorraine

The plant is healthy and has produced flowers twice this year. The flowers are really pretty, an unusual dark colour, and very fragrant. I have it in a pot and unless it grows it will be too small to plant in a bed. In a pot it would be useful as a table center-piece when in flower.

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Gill

Excelkenr service. Packed and delivered on time. Packarging is excellent plants always in place and cannot be dislodged as with some companies i have used when your plants turn up in broken pieces and soil everywhere

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Lorna

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd October 2018 by Caroline

quick,efficient,keep customer informed, good quality.
I kept the honeysuckle in pots for some time as they were quite small plants. Seem to be doing well now transplanted.

* * - - -

Reviewed 22nd September 2018 by Samuel

The first of these plants, bought early in the year has not flourished and is only 30 mm high. The one referred to here, plante150 mm away is flourishing and now 250 mm tall and growing well. Both have flowered. They were both planted in compost using "Rootgrow" and there have been no obvious signs of ant activity.
I'm sorry not to have been able to give higher ratings but perhaps the dwarf will start to grow during the next season!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with one of your Lonicera and have refunded you for the plant."

Posted 7th November 2018

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Barbara

I'm afraid it did not grow, it was grown as per the instructions, but it just faded away.

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Linda

They arrived well packaged but one plant was dead on arrival and the other two followed shortly afterwards.
I don’t think I’ll buy plants online again. Too much of a hit or miss.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for it."

Posted 7th November 2018

* - - - -

Reviewed 19th September 2018 by Katherine

Died within a couple of weeks of purchasing

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for it."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 17th September 2018 by Lindsay

The first plant to arrive was little more than a dead stick. I had to complain in order to receive a healthy plant. I simply cannot understand how a reputable nursery could have despatched such an awful plant. The replacement was good - but shouldn't have been necessary.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your Lonicera arrived in an unacceptable condition and note that this was reported back to our nursery at the time as this is not the quality we expect you to receive."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 14th September 2018 by Jacqueline

The service was fine, but the plant never thrived. It arrived in February with one shoot. I planted it next to my rose but it never produced any more growth. I finally dug it out in May and discovered it hadn’t produced any roots at all. I would say, that the tulips I ordered around the same time were fabulous.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for the plants."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 13th September 2018 by Roberta

This only flowered for a very short time and hardly grew at all. I’m hoping it will be better next year.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Sarah

Growing well and flowered well.

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Jacqueline

The first plant I received did not survive i think it was a very poorly plant. But it was replaced with out issue.. but it has not don ever that well in my large pot, but it has been a very difficult season.

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Charles

I LIKE SARAH RAVENS PLANTS. ALWAYS IN SUPER CONDITION AAND READY TO POT ON OR PLANT OUT AS PER HER INSTRUCTIONS. NEVER HAD A DUD AND I HAVE ORDERED OVER A NUMBER OF YEARS.

* * * * -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Jan

I wanted to try this in a pot. It flowered well but has succumbed to some mildew. I know this is common with honeysuckles. I plan to give it a good prune at the end of the season.

* * - - -

Reviewed 12th September 2018 by Allison

Still to small/young a plant to tell how well it will do once established. However it had some beautiful and quite large (in comparison to its height) flowers. Am very hopeful given it survived some exceptionally hot and dry weather.

* - - - -

Reviewed 11th September 2018 by Iris

This plant has made no progress. Hardly visible.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for leaving your review. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Lonicera and have refunded you for them."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * - - -

Reviewed 4th September 2018 by Elizabeth

not sure, not given the best spot, will give it some TLC!!

* - - - -

Reviewed 4th September 2018 by Mrs Seear

Service always very good but Lonicera’chic et choc was very disappointing . It didn’t thrive despite following instructions, and died shortly afterwards.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your Lonicera have failed to thrive. We note that you have been in touch with our Customer Services team about this and that the plant will be replaced when next available."

Posted 7th November 2018

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Jayne

* * * * -

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Mrs Watts

Grew nicely, berries pretty

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Ruth

First one was not too healthy and died quite soon so it was replaced without question and the new one is glorious.

* * * * *

Reviewed 3rd September 2018 by Eftihia

Beautiful plant, the scent is incredible.It is close to the ones I am used to, like the honeysuckle you see in Greek gardens, heavily perfumed. I have another one, in orange color, but no scent. this one ticks all the boxes. The color combination is great too.It is a short variety, as it did not seem to grow very much , considering we had a warm half-summer. The quality of plants is very good, the service impeccable; thank you very much

* * * * *

Reviewed 2nd September 2018 by Ruth

Plant arrived in good condition and has flowered well around my salvia love and wishes

Stunning!

* * * * *

Reviewed 9th June 2018 by Alison

I am delighted with this honeysuckle, the colours are absolutely stunning, the prettiest one I’ve ever seen. It grew really well from the moment I planted it.