Orlaya grandiflora

Orlaya grandiflora (White lace flower) has beautiful mini handkerchiefs on delicate umbellifer flower heads. This is a long-standing favourite of mine. More
30 seeds 020039 £1.95 In stock
[?]
Items will be despatched in 2-3 working days.
5 jumbo seedlings 200391-5 £6.95 Delivery early March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 2 weeks for despatch.
10 jumbo seedlings 200391-10 £11.50 Delivery early March
[?]
When in stock, please allow up to 2 weeks for despatch.

Or buy this as part of our Mont Blanc Cut Flowers Collection.

More Details

Orlaya grandiflora (White lace flower) has beautiful mini handkerchiefs on delicate umbellifer flower heads. This is a long-standing favourite of mine.

Ammi majus (Bishop's flower) has been one of my favourite and best selling seeds for years now, and so we trialled this similar fuller-flowered cousin and loved it as much. Give it a try. It forms larger, more prolific plants from an autumn sowing.

Genus Orlaya grandiflora
Type Hardy Annual
Common Name White Lace Flower
Border Position Back
Soil Type Neutral
Scent Unscented
Site Full Sun
Moisture Well-drained
Height 60cm (24in)
Spacing 30cm (12in)
Sowing, Seeds, Planting Sow under cover March-April or sow direct in April for summer flowering, or in autumn for earlier flowers the following year.
Care Tips Hardy annuals can withstand a touch of frost and can be sown/planted straight into the ground in the autumn and will keep through the winter without protection. In colder areas you may wish to cover seedlings or keep in a cold frame/ unheated greenhouse.
Flowering June - September, 12 weeks from spring sowing.
Vase Life 7-10 days
Harvesting Flower production: 2-3 months.
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
  • Sow Under Cover/Plant Indoors
  • Direct Sow/Plant Outdoors
  • Flowers/Harvest
Advice & Videos
Sarah's weekly blog: Chelsea Day 4

The seed-grown hot shot of this year’s Chelsea Show is...

Sowing flowers in late summer

 Sarah shows how to sow flowers in late summer for more beautiful plants next spring.

Prepare your spring garden in autumn

To create the best flowers in spring you'll need to start growing in autumn - find out which varieties to grow here.

Delivery

Seeds Delivery - Items will be despatched in 2-3 working days.

Plant Delivery - When in stock, please allow up to 2 weeks for despatch.

Click here to find out more information about our delivery rates and times.

Write a Review

Orlaya grandiflora reviews

* * * * - Average based on 7 reviews
Write a Review
Review guidelines

Please let us know how you got on with growing our seeds, bulbs and plants, or using a piece of kit, or taking part on one of our courses or events.

We love hearing your garden success stories and sharing growing combos, advice and ideas with fellow enthusiasts. If you'd like to share a picture, we love receiving these on Facebook and Twitter.

Please note we may choose to use your review in other places within the sarahraven.com website.

If you've had a problem with one of our products, and for the quickest response, please get in touch with our Customer Service team who can deal with returns and refunds, as well as answer any questions you may have.

So disappointed

* * - - -

Reviewed 4th August 2017 by Pauline Murphy

I grew the plugs on in pots, they did really well, good strong plants with several lovely flowers. I planted them out in the border and was delighted; the flower heads looked so pretty, bobbing among the other plants. Within a few weeks, as the first flush of flowers started to fade, the leaves turned brown and the whole plant eventually withered and died. This happened to all 5 plants, 2 in the front garden, 3 in the back, all well watered and cared for. Such a shame.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for taking time to review our site. we are sorry to hear that your plants did not thrive. In our experience Orlaya do best when allowed to grow a good root ball , plus a spot in light, well-drained soil as being natives of the Mediterranean they dislike growing in any soil that retains too much moisture.
If we can help you in any way please do contact our customer service team at info@sarahraven.com or by calling 0345 092 0283 and our team will assist you further.
Kind Regards, The Sarah Raven Team"

Posted 10th August 2017

Gorgeous but very challenging to grow

* * * - -

Reviewed 18th July 2017 by Sophie

I grew these from seed for the first time this year and only 3 plants survived to planting out. One of those thrived and had gorgeous flowers until suddenly going brown this week and giving up. The other two are barely surviving. I shall probably try an autumn sowing as the one plant was so lovely when it did flower that I would like to try again.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that your orlaya did not perform well, please do contact our Customer Service Team on 0345 092 0283 or at info@sarahraven.com and they will be happy to advise should you wish to try again.

Kind regards,
The Sarah Raven Team"

Posted 18th July 2017

Fabulous

* * * * *

Reviewed 13th June 2017 by Emily

Plug plants arrived in great condition so I was hoping they'd flower well and they absolutely have! I've got a brilliant cloud of umbels mixing really well with grasses and nepeta which is lovely for me and the bees.

Help!

* * - - -

Reviewed 3rd July 2016 by Ann Davis

I have grown Orlaya from seed sown in spring for two years in succession now. They germinate fine and I grow them on to be sturdy plants before planting out. Once in the beds they grow for a few weeks and some even produce a couple of flowers, then they fail. The leaves start to turn brown and the plants die off. I really would like to be able to grow them as they are such pretty flowers. Any ideas where I am going wrong? I will try an autumn sowing this year, see if that helps.

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the plants that you grew from the 'Orlaya Grandiflora' seeds from us. Yes we would recommend trying an autumn sowing, sow the seeds in pots and keep them undercover (in a cold frame or green house) over the winter. This will give them a good root system and hopefully they will be more successful next spring. Please do let our customer service team know if needed and they can assist you further or if you would like further advice about these plants please contact our horticultural adviser at plantadvice@sarahraven.com"

Posted 11th July 2016

Just ........ lovely

* * * * *

Reviewed 12th June 2016 by Jo Williamson

I'd bought plugs before from other suppliers with dreadful results but was desperate to try these to fill in places in my very narrow border (between a rock and a hard place). They arrived beautifully packaged and very healthy little plantlets. I potted them on into 9 cm pots and let them do their own thing outside. They grew on beautifully and once their roots had filled the pots, they went into the border and are flowering brilliantly. This is an ideal way for me to grow a small number of different annuals - I don't really enjoy growing from seed myself (quelle horreur!) and I shall certainly be ordering more plugs next year if these are anything to go by!

Third time lucky!

* * * * *

Reviewed 11th June 2016 by Dido

This is the third year I've attempted to grow these pretty flowers - the first year the slugs got the lot, the second year it was rabbits; but this year, success! I grew them from seed in the autumn and they overwintered (netted this time), coming into flower at the end of May, a lovely froth of white flowers which look great in the vase, especially with a few cornflowers interspersed. It was definitely worth persevering.

Product Reviews

* - - - -

Reviewed 17th November 2014 by Jennifer Bousfield

Sadly, the young plants supplied were far too tall and etiolated; there were even some flower stems budding, all far too forward for survival this winter. I have cut some back to just above a leaf and these have begun to shoot but remain very spindly. The others are flowering now but I wanted them for spring!

Reply from the Sarah Raven Team:

"Thank you for your comments. We're so sorry that the seedlings didn't arrive in the exact condition you anticipated. However, if planted now once cut back they will overwinter fine and set out new strong shoots in the spring. If you have any further problems please get in contact with our Customer Service team who will happily arrange a replacement for you in the spring."

Posted 18th November 2014